Orbit. Emily Horner.

An intriguing short story by my dear friend Emily Horner. The wolf-girls live in the wilderness of a post-apocalyptic future, doing what they can to resist the satellites that killed the old world. But there’s trouble in the pack…

pea river journal

Orbit

All that winter me and the other girls in the pack tried to tell ourselves that nothing was wrong. It was just because Lynette had left; it was just because of that blizzard we had to dig ourselves out of. And then Jamie, who’d come up from the village a few months ago, fifteen years old, still enamored of hot baths and pretty shoes, complained about our watercress and our boiled bark; and Stella snapped, “I haven’t seen you out hunting.”
Jamie walked out into the snow. I followed, running, with a coat and a lantern. Angry that Stella had said it and angry at the fifty times I’d thought the same thing.
“I should go back home,” she said when I caught up with her. She wiped at her nose with a mitten crusted in frozen snot. “She’s right. All I do is complain. All those stories they…

View original post 2,123 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, Links

Leave a Reply

