A Contract in Azure and Indigo, Chapter One (of Three)

The archive crawl continues. And once again, for some reason, I can’t reblog the chapter list (seen here), which is what I really wanted to do.

I like this one because it has a very odd and interesting flavor. Despite the fantasy setting, it reminds me very much of an episode from the original series of The Twilight Zone: a terrible person receives his comeuppance, not because the decent people around him trick him in any way, but because his own twisted perspective leads him to want something that isn’t really good for him…

2 Comments

Filed under Fantasy, Fiction, Links

2 responses to “A Contract in Azure and Indigo, Chapter One (of Three)

  1. Thank you once again for the reblog and the feedback! This one was written almost a year ago when I was trying to find my voice and I was really inspired as I worked on it. Although it still has some rough patches that I want to clean up with revision, I’m still very proud of it as a work. Not only was I pleased with the story, but when it was done it was the first time that I had created a piece of writing that said to me, “You can do this. You can tell a good story.”

    Macule flowed very easily from my imagination and into his role as the antagonist of the story. I think that it is the fact that he is a rotten guy but still a step-down from an arch-villain that makes him relatable; we’ve all knows folks that are like him in one way or another, but few of us (hopefully) will ever encounter evil on the scale of Professor James Moriarty.

    The tricky part for me was crafting the relationship between Ama and Bean as it progressed throughout the story. That took a lot of time and rewriting to strike the right tone.

    Glad you liked it! 🙂

    • Thank you once again for the reblog and the feedback!

      Glad to do it. Like I’ve said before, just trying to bring quality material to my readers.

      This one was written almost a year ago when I was trying to find my voice and I was really inspired as I worked on it. Although it still has some rough patches that I want to clean up with revision, I’m still very proud of it as a work. Not only was I pleased with the story, but when it was done it was the first time that I had created a piece of writing that said to me, “You can do this. You can tell a good story.”

      That’s a great feeling. I think we all wish it came more often. As for me, I think I’m still looking for my voice in a lot of ways. I’ve got something, I suppose, but I’m still looking for something that’s uniquely my own – that something that makes a King different from a Barker from a Gaiman from a Bradbury.

      Macule flowed very easily from my imagination and into his role as the antagonist of the story. I think that it is the fact that he is a rotten guy but still a step-down from an arch-villain that makes him relatable; we’ve all knows folks that are like him in one way or another, but few of us (hopefully) will ever encounter evil on the scale of Professor James Moriarty.

      It’s true, the Great Monsters are rare. But for all the damage they can do, it’s the nasty little men like Macule who’ve made life the most miserable for the most people down through the ages. If nothing else, they tend to be the ones who give the Great Monsters their power.

      The tricky part for me was crafting the relationship between Ama and Bean as it progressed throughout the story. That took a lot of time and rewriting to strike the right tone.

      That was a delicate balancing act. A strange combination of motherly and the bittersweet regret of a love that missed its chance by an accident of being born too many decades apart. And then…

      I think you pulled it off very well.

Leave a Reply

