Might Need To See This…

Well, this is certainly intriguing:

Am I the last one to hear about this?  *Checks the Wikipedia link*  Maybe not…why are so many interesting horror movies getting a limited release and then straight to Netflix these days?  I’d have gone to see Harbinger Down at the theatre if it had been at a theatre anywhere near here!

Anyway…

I must say, as much as I’m intrigued by this, I’m also a bit wary.  I usually like stories that take the “innocent virginal Final Girl survives the massacre” formula and try to turn it into something genuinely empowering – big fan of both Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Hack/Slash here – but Red Molly points out, and rightly, that this looks very much like it’s treading the same ground as Cabin In The Woods, and the chance that it can do so as expertly as Joss Whedon did is slim.  Besides, jokes lose impact quickly, especially sarcastic, deconstructionist ones.  Remember the whole self-aware slasher craze?  That burned out quickly, and for good reason.

Who am I kidding?  I’m going to see it anyway.  I’ll report back to y’all as soon as I can.

Meanwhile, take a look at this Youtube variation on the same theme:

And what do you know?  While I was searching Youtube for that, I also found this:

At least that one’s on Netflix already.  No promises, since it’s well down the queue, but here’s hoping…

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, Horror, Links

Leave a Reply

