Angel – A Short Story of the Un-Dead

Discovered this one a few days ago. Finally decided to share it. A familiar situation with a some decidedly new twists. Will say no more for fear of spoilers, but see my comments afterward for some things I particularly appreciated.

Aethereal Engines

Emily lifted the sparkling pink case of her iPhone and checked the time under the streetlight. Within seconds, she finished tapping out a text message to her boyfriend, telling him of the delay with Melissa but that they were still coming tonight. The sound of bicycle tires approaching on the paved road pulled her attention away from the phone, and she watched the looping pattern of the bike’s wheel reflectors glide closer as she stood on the lonely suburban curbside.

With a sigh and roll of the eyes she recognized it was Sam Sherman coming out of the darkness. She looked back down at her phone as his chubby legs in cargo pants stopped peddling and brought the bike to a stop beside her with his Chuck Taylor high-tops.

Sam stood straddling the bike; asthmatically catching his breath in the cool autumn air as Emily quietly checked her Facebook feed.

View original post 4,749 more words

3 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Horror, Links

3 responses to “Angel – A Short Story of the Un-Dead

  1. Thank you very much for the share, good Sir! I’m honored that you liked it enough to do so. 🙂 I’ll need to write some more with these characters in the future!

    • You are most welcome. As I said at your place, I really like some the twists you put on this one (I hesitate to say “new twists”, because some of them were actually very, very old – and that’s what I like about them).

      There will probably be more – I have not yet begun to archive crawl.

      And yes. Yes, you do.

  2. Hi Matthew, I’ve been watching you taking a look and liking stories on my blog as you dig deeper into the archive, and by now you’ve probably read most of everything. However, I’ve enjoyed your commentary and feedback so much that I thought that I would share something with you that isn’t finished or fully public yet… I started it in May and it’s called “Raid on the Château de la Malartrie”. it’s five chapters deep and still has a way and some revision left to go, but I hope you enjoy it. Here’s the link: http://aetherealengines.com/raid/ Take care!

Leave a Reply

