Read the Reviews!

For Hometown:

Hometown-title

on March 27, 2015

I received this e-book for my review purposes, all opinions and thoughts are 100% my own and unbiased.

This book is well written and is sure to keep you on the edge. It is very suspenseful and engaging.

It starts out before the school season starts for the kids. It’s the Fall of 1994 in the small Milltown of Belford, New York.Fall season is upon us and many things are going on in the fall, school starting, weather changes. Everything is normal until the disappearances begin. People are disappearing into the mist. Some people are found torn apart, some people are found dead for no reason, and some people aren’t found at all. Other people see strange things in the mist: ghosts and campfire stories. There’s something out there in that mist. Something old. Something that has slept for a long time, but has now woken up hungry. Maybe the people of Belford could resist it, but as the terrible Fall wears on, more and more of them start…changing. Acting bizarre and violent. In the end, only a small group of teenage defenders are left to make their stand.

This book was very exciting there were lots of suspense. If you enjoy on the edge moments you will truly enjoy this book.

This book has violence and sex but is very suspenseful. I would highly recommend it.

on March 23, 2015
Nicely written and an excellent story. I’d have been happy to give it five stars had it not been a bit overwritten. Sometimes less is more.
on March 22, 2015
I wasn’t sure about this book but I loved it to the end. I will see what other hidden gems this author has written.
on March 22, 2015
A really good book that keeps you interested through the whole book. This book has many main characters so at some points it was confusing but other than that it was a good read.
on March 19, 2015

People are disappearing into the mist, some are found torn apart, some are found dead for no apparent reason, and some people cannot be found at all. Slowly, the people of Belford start changing, acting bizarre and violent, however, in the end only a few teenagers are left to make their stand. 🙂

Hometown by Matthew Keville took me by surprise…I love horror books, but this means that I am also very picky about any horror book I decide to read… Hometown was a really good read…The story is creepy and intriguing, the plot has all the right twists, and the characters are interesting and easy to like…

I cannot tell how much I liked this book. I did not want to see it end. Each character was great and liked how it followed their lives and how they turned out. Matt write more like this again
on March 8, 2015
I grab this book in the weekend as it was free. It was a great read.
If you are a sci-fi fan, this is a MUST.
The author is new to me, but I will definitely will keep track of him.

Loved it!!

on March 1, 2015
A great read. I love sci-fi/ horror books and this one is a really good one. Kept you entertained from beginning to end. Can’t wait for more from Matthew Keville!!
on October 2, 2014
Format: Paperback
Fantastic!
I mean, look at this cover.
The Truth of Rock and Roll is an astoundingly good novel. It has a unique, yet still familiar premise. It begins with a young man who doesn’t want to go to business school arguing on the phone with his father. After the conversation, a middle-aged man approaches him and begins to talk. The young man stays and listens (against his better instincts) and is treated to a story about youth, love, rebellion, small town prejudice, courage and the magic of rock and roll, which in this story is not just a figure of speech. Rock and roll is literally magical.

The Truth of Rock and Roll is not a long book, nor is it an intensely intellectual read. It can be easily devoured in an hour. Devoured is the right word for how one should read this book though. Keville recently began releasing it in serialized form on his blog in an attempt to simply reach more readers. After just the first section I wanted to buy the book. After the fourth I needed to buy it. The characters had quickly become my friends, people I cared about and wanted to win. I couldn’t escape the story, or the world. It’s the world I want for myself, where life is magic and love conquers all, though not without some serious annoyance along the way. Keville shows his skill in telling a wonderfully cheesy tale while making it new enough and good enough that you don’t care if it’s cheesy or a little old hash.

It’s possible this book appealed to me so much because I grew up in a small town and know all too well the kinds of trials and prejudice Johnny and Jenny (what else would our rock and roll lovebirds be named?) come up against. He’s a rich boy, she’s just white trash from the wrong side of the tracks. It’s the same in Footloose and Grease and The Notebook and thousands of other stories.

By E. Amir on April 28, 2012

A short rock and roll novella. It’s not cyberpunk, but the rock and roll theme slightly feels like it. Recommended; I look forward to the author’s future work.
Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, Hometown, Links, The Truth of Rock and Roll

Leave a Reply

