I Always Think About Home This Time Of Year…

The weather has finally turned in New York City.  The extended summer has finally come to an end, and Fall is upon us.  There’s a chill in the air, and the leaves are starting to change.

I love Fall.  It’s my favorite time of year, my personal time of renewal.  What Spring is to most people, Fall is to me.  Still, whenever Fall rolls around and the colors come out, I start to get nostalgic.  I start thinking – and wishing – of home.

Not the place I grew up.  No, that’s for after Halloween, for Thanksgiving and Christmas.  Cold weather, short dark days, and comfort food.

No, when Fall comes, I always start to think of my old Alma Mater.

I didn’t get to visit this year.  Time and money were too tight.  Next year should be better, though – a decent number of vacation days is a good thing to have.

Even so, it makes me sad that I couldn’t go home this year.  I’d hoped to make a pilgrimage back to my roots a yearly tradition.  The strength and inspiration I draw from walking the campus again is fuel I need to keep writing through the year.  But as the song says, life is what happens when you’re making other plans.

Still.  As the chill sets in and the colors turn, I think I’ll still take a moment to go home in my heart.

Leave a comment

Filed under Links, My Life

Leave a Reply

