Halloween Viewing List

Hello, all!

It’s that time again!  Every horror hound’s favorite time of year, when the night grows long and the chill sets in and the leaves begin dying in their bright colors. When dark magic runs gleefully through the streets and jack-o-lanterns glow from the windows and we count down the days until the night when the vampires seek the blue flame, when the dead walk the Earth and danse the macabre with the strange beautiful creatures in their masks.

Like many of you, I will honor this holiday by consuming as much horror-related and otherwise creepy media as I possibly can. Stephen King is on my reading list for this month, and of course, every DVD in my stack of movies to watch is horror.

My original plan for this post was to play this clip from a movie which, itself, is from one of my primary Halloween movies:

…and discuss how I’ve been using it as a cinematic “To Do” list for years now.

However, upon re-watching it, I realized that most of these movies were the “bright and shiny spaceship” type of science fiction instead of the “secretive alien invasion” type. With that in mind, I recommend that you watch this clip instead, which includes all of the references to anything horror ever, and use that as your Halloween checklist:

(For the record, this is how I’ve filled out my “Science Fiction Double Feature” checklist so far:

The Day the Earth Stood Still – only parts. Need to sit down and see the whole thing.

Flash Gordon – saw the absurd 1980 version with the Queen soundtrack, which is obviously not the one being discussed here. Not sure I want to see the older versions where Flash is defending us from the Yellow Peril FROM SPACE.

The Invisible Man, Claude Rains version – still need to see it.

King Kong, original – Saw it. Loved it, despite weirdness like the carnivorous Apatosaurus. Need to see it again.

It Came From Outer Space – Still need to see it.  Have bumped to the top of my Netflix queue.

Doctor X – Saw one movie with that title, but Dr. X was the hero. Perhaps there’s another?

Forbidden Planet – Saw it. Loved it. With its mysterious monster, might be a good Halloween movie despite the bright shininess.

Tarantula – Saw it. Review is coming soon, I swear.

Day of the Triffids – Saw it. Not bad. Have to see it again, write a review for that one, too.

Don’t get the Dana Andrews reference. Can anyone help?

When Worlds Collide – Still need to see it.

RKO isn’t what it once was, but I still love me a late night double feature picture show. For some movies, that’s the only way the Elder Gods intended them to be watched.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Links

Leave a Reply

