I Don’t Know How Long I Can Keep This Up

I’m looking at my To Do list, and I’m seeing one blog post after another on it.  It’s a little depressing.

I started this blog a little over a year and a half ago so I could showcase my fiction.  More and more lately, the work I put in to keep the blog updated is actually crowding out the fiction!

Part of it is that I’m a little bit of a theatre person, in addition to a writer.  Some writers can write for themselves and be happy, but I crave an audience.  I will work to maintain and build it.  It may not be a very big audience, by the standards of a lot of blogs out there (blogs about the big three topics – sex, politics and religion – seem to draw followers like shit draws flies), but it’s mine.

Another part is that I really do have things to say.  Thoughts I want to share with the world, and actions I want to convince the world to share with me.

Finally, of course, there’s the fact that the original purpose is still valid: this blog remains my primary platform for getting my fiction, and word thereof, out to the world.

Still, it all seems rather self-defeating if I don’t have time to write any new fiction.

I’m not going anywhere anytime soon.  I still have a lot to say here.  But I honestly wonder if, sooner or later, something won’t have to give.

Leave a comment

Filed under My Life

Leave a Reply

