Interesting Links – August 29, 2014

Not that they need my recommendation, but Cracked.com is on today.

The first is by far the more important of the two:

7 Important Details Nobody Mentions About Ferguson

It’s a shame that, as so often happens on The Daily Show, a comedy publication is doing a better job of reporting than the supposedly-serious mainstream media.  But then, it’s always been the jester’s job to tell the truth.

The second isn’t nearly as important, but it is one of our national obsessions:

5 Things Nobody Tells You About Trying To Lose Weight

I, and quite a few people I love, struggle with our weight.  And considering the problems that men in my family have with heart health, it’s not just a matter of vanity for me.  I’m aided in my efforts to stay healthy by the city I live in – New York is very much a walking city – and the fact that I like to take long walks for fun.  Unfortunately, I’m hindered by my sit-at-a-desk job and the fact that you can’t turn around in New York without stepping in good food.

This writer’s analysis makes a lot of sense, and I have to say that I’ve been doing something much like what he recommends for some time now.  It doesn’t give the results that I was crowing about earlier this year when I was eating cereal bars for breakfast, Lean Cuisines for lunch, and counting every calorie.  On the other hand, I don’t spend my afternoons low on energy, body literally craving calories anymore.  It’s easier to make good food decisions when you can walk past the convenience store on the way to your train without yearning toward the sweet, sweet energy in a Nutrageous bar.  And my runs on my treadmill just seem to be getting easier.

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Links

3 responses to “Interesting Links – August 29, 2014

  1. The conclusion the author of the second piece comes to makes me wonder if he’s heard of Health At Every Size (HAES), with its focus on healthy behaviors rather than weight. IMO “be a certain weight/size” which is so much of the advice we get from media/peers is actually much less helpful than “aim to have healthy habits”. Eating a diet that is healthy for you (and that will vary individual to individual) is a good idea no matter what size you are. Exercising often (though not to excess) is a good idea no matter what size you are. We need to put the focus on the things we can control — our actual behaviors– rather than an arbitrary number that we may not have as much control over as we’d like to believe.

    • I hadn’t heard about it. Thanks for mentioning it.

      • Here is one good source if you’re interested in learning more: http://www.nutritionj.com/content/pdf/1475-2891-10-9.pdf

        Of particular interest:
        “Randomized controlled clinical trials indicate that a HAES approach is associated with statistically and clinically relevant improvements in physiological measures (e.g., blood pressure,
        blood lipids), health behaviors (e.g., eating and activity habits, dietary quality), and psychosocial outcomes (such as
        self-esteem and body image), and that HAES achieves these health outcomes more successfully than weight loss
        treatment and without the contraindications associated with a weight focus.”

Leave a Reply

