New Things On The Horizon

Hey, all.

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but I’ve kind of been at loose ends here at Dreams of the Shining Horizon since I finished writing Hometown.  Pretty much since I started this blog, that was my big project.  There was a period in late Fall of last year when I put aside everything else to work on it.  Then…it was done.

I meant to use the period between the time I finished writing Hometown and the time I finished posting it to build up my short-story buffer.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t pull myself together to do that.  I’d start one project, then another, and try to work on them all at once.  As you can imagine, that’s not very effective.  It doesn’t matter if you write ten pages a day (and I rarely do), you don’t make much progress if those pages are spread out amongst a dozen projects.

For a long while, I puttered around, telling myself I had plenty of time.  And I did…then.  Now I have about two weeks left in my short story buffer, and it’s time to refocus.  So here’s what the future looks like here at Dreams of the Shining Horizon:

My Left Behind Writing Seminars, Health Journals, and movie reviews will continue to be weekly features (on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, respectively).  In between those features, I will continue to work on fiction, and post it on Tuesdays and/or Thursdays whenever I can complete it.

But here’s the thing about the fiction: when I started this blog, it was originally meant to be a platform to publicize my fiction.  An attempt to sell books, in other words.  I’ll be returning to that.  What does that mean?  It means that you’ll be seeing a series of stories that share a theme, which I’ll then collect into a book and move on to the next theme.  The first book?  The Guardian Cats of NYC.

Oh, btw: keep your eye out for Hometown.  I’ll let you know when it’s available for sale (heck, I’ll be showing you when each new draft of the cover comes in, like an eager parent sharing ultrasound pictures).  At this point, I think it’s easier to just pay five bucks for the thing than to click back through all those months of archives.

Keep your eye out – exciting things to come!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

