Happy Birthday To Me: More Deep Thoughts

A little while ago, I put up a post where I just kind of randomly sounded off on life, death, God, justice, and anything else that seemed important.

Today’s my birthday, so I’m only thinking about one thing today: getting older.

To tell the truth, I’m not too happy about it.  Oh, it beats the heck out of the alternative, no question, but it makes me wish I had a third option.

So.  My Deep Thoughts on the topic:

1) I think I was a better person when I was younger.  Oh, I was seven different kinds of fool, hot-tempered and convinced of my own special destiny.  But I was also more passionate, more compassionate, and more generous.  More willing to jump in and try to help people personally, rather than just send money to charities.  Life has cooled me, but it has also hardened me.

2) It seems that most people would stop at the part where they were seven different kinds of fool when they were younger, and just give thanks that they’re not that clueless person anymore.  I can understand that.  Wisdom is a worthy thing.  But that youthful fire is also a worthy thing, and we trade it away for…whatever we can get from life.

3) In the end, I think age is too high a price to pay for wisdom.

Ah, well.  Enough depression for one day.  There is no third option, and as much as I’m at the age where I don’t like to think about my birthdays, I don’t want them to stop coming for a long time yet.  Time to go out and celebrate with the one thing I didn’t have when I was that younger, better person: a circle of friends to be on the inside of, rather than standing outside wishing.

I’ll eat one of Red Molly’s raspberry bars in y’all’s honor.

Leave a comment

Filed under My Life

Leave a Reply

